Prebendal Manor Cup 2020

Holder: Peter Allan

The Prebendal Manor Cup handicap competition is commencing. This will be contested by 12 players with a block phase being played in three blocks of 4; the top 2 players from each block automatically advance to the finals phase on September 12th. They will be joined by the two remaining players with the best records from the blocks phase. All the conditions and criteria can be found on this page:

Blocks phase and results

Games should be played as 18pt (1 and 3-back variation) games with a 2.5 hour time limit. Games will be handicap using a base of 9. Each player needs to complete their three block games by the end of September 6th. Results should be sent to me using this link below:

Send in results

Draws are not permitted, and the rules for resolving the winner when the scores are level after the time turns should be followed. I will explain if you are in doubt.

The best record will be determined by the following criteria, in this order:

  • Number of games won
  • Who-beat-who
  • Net points accrued from all games
  • Total points accrued from all games
  • Who reported the result of their third game to me first

It is generally not ideal to have to depend on net and total points to determine standings in handicap play, but it is necessary to have a tie-breaker that works across blocks.

Finals phase

Games will likely again be 18pt with a 2.5 hour time limit until the final which will be contested as a 26pt game with a 3 or 3.5 hour time limit, depending on the playing conditions that day.

Losers from the quarter and semi finals will have additional games that day if they so wish.

Block allocations and results

Block allocations have been made using the recommended seeding approach based on handicap. This should provide all players with a good variety of opponents. The blocks (and results when posted) are as follows:

Block 1

1Steve Fisher+18+3-4231744
2Joe King-18+13+323-236
3Andy Robertson-3-13+913-734
4Minty Clinch+4-3-913-840

Block 2

1Brian Jamieson+7+12+12333154
2Peter Allan-7+6+923847
3Deirdre Cochrane-12-6+313-1532
4Edmund Shirley-12-9-303-2426

Block 3

1Anthony Hardwicke+2+4+16332242
2Bruce Gallop-2+5+14231746
3John Harrison-4-5+313-633
4Paul Wolff-16-14-303-3315

Players and handicaps

The initial handicaps I have recorded for each player from the CA website are as follows. If any is incorrect then please let me know. If your handicap changes because you pass a trigger point please make sure that you update this on the CA website and on the club website under personal details :

Player name Handicap
Peter Allan 8
Minty Clinch 26
Deirdre Cochrane 4
Steve Fisher 11
Bruce Gallop 7
Anthony Hardwicke 11
John Harrison (tbc) 16
Brian Jamieson 12
Joe King -1/2
Andy Robertson 10
Edmund Shirley 24
Paul Wolff 4

The base 9 means that in games involving players of handicap less than 9, normal bisque allocations apply, subject to the reduction for 18pt games. For games played between two players with handicaps above 9, then each player gets a number of bisques equal to the difference between their handicap and 9, reduced according to the schedule for 18pt games.

So in Paul Wolff vs John Harrison, John is allocated 12 bisques reduced to 8.5

And in Andy Robertson vs Steve Fisher, Andy is allocated 1 bisque reduced to 0.5 and Steve is allocated 2 reduced to 1.5

All results should be recorded on handicap cards. If you then pass a trigger point please amend your handicap accordingly for future games. If you need guidance on this please let me know, or see the CA website here.

Other questions

If you have any residual questions or encounter any issues please feel free to call me on 07768 182 885 and I’ll do my best to help.

Joe King

AC Captain

AC Ladder

See instructions below

Full ladder

Games leader


Welcome to the AC ladder competition. All games in whatever format count on the ladder, whether full or shortened games, played to handicap or advanced rules, as well as 1-ball games. All club members are invited to get involved.

  • Playing your first game will add you to the ladder.
  • You may challenge any club member to a game, regardless of whether they are on the ladder already or are yet to play their first game. Games should ideally be arranged and played within a week of a challenge being issued.
  • Your initial ladder ranking points are set to 100, and you gain a point for winning a game and drop a point for losing. This means the ladder should remain balanced if some players play more games with other playing less. Your ladder position is determined by ladder ranking points. If a tie break is required then games won and percentage of games won are considered.

There will be an overall prize for the player at the top of the ladder at the end of the ladder competition later this season. But there will also be recognition for the player who wins most games in each 3-week period, starting today.

The ladder is fully online – and you can enter your result online from your smartphone, tablet or PC (or email Joe King if you prefer) and the updated ladder will be visible above.

When entering results you must enter the date, the winner (from a pull down menu of names) and the loser. You may also record the format of the game and the score. Inconsistencies are indicated by a highlighted cell or cells with a pale brown colour. The date (which must not be in the future) can be entered in a variety of formats.

Berkshire Handicap

This is the re-titled Blewbury version of this year’s AC All-England Handicap, which was cancelled at National level, but not before we had collected ten individual entries from Blewbury and other nearby clubs. So we decided to play the Blewbury local heat anyway, for the players’ benefit.


The event was played in two American blocks – that’s all-play-all in a block – and the top two in each block qualified for a decider, to be played as two semi-finals followed by a final and a third-place play-off on Sunday, 13th September.

The final standings in the block stage are as shown below. The two semi-finals will be Anthony vs Brian and Peter vs Deirdre.

Berkshire Handicap – Block A – 2020

1Anthony Hardwicke32849
2Deirdre Cochrane32443
3Carol Jamieson31043
4John Harrison30-1235

Berkshire Handicap – Block B – 2020

1Peter Allan433866
2Brian Jamieson431469
3Andy Robertson43255
4Michael Kay41-2242
5Minty Clinch40-3240

The places are decided primarily on number of wins, but if that isn’t enough, tie-breakers are applied in this sequence until a definite order is reached: who beat whom; net hoops scored; total hoops scored; and ultimately, who first reported their final game result to the manager (Paul).